top of page


6th-20th April (2019)

Curated by Brian Mountford.

Abracadabra is an exhibition curated by Brian Mountford, as part of Painting Programme. Brian has been invited by studio holder Rufus Newell to create a group painting exhibition. Brian b.1984 who studied his BA at University Central Lancashire (2011), completes his MA at the Royal College Of Art (2019). Biran Lives and works in London.

Jane Hayes Greenwood, Kostas Sklavenitis, Zoe Spowage, Max Gimson, Neill Kidgell, Rae Hicks, Tristan Pigott, Henny Acloque, John Greenwood, Brian Mountford, Gorka Mohamed, Francesca Blomfield.

Abracadabra is part of Painting Programme.

Painting programme is a seven-month programme of painting exhibitions curated by different painters, each of whom are invite by Assembly House studio holders. The exhibitions which will explore the role, possibilities and responsibility of collective artistic activity today as well as expose the curators’ unique approach to making, and their appreciation of dynamics within art.

The programme is structured by each studio holder who extends an invitation to another painter, each of whom has been asked to curate a painting-focused exhibition. Within this framework the curating artist can navigate their own interests for each exhibition. The exhibitions will bring together a range of artists within the philosophy that they are all painters together, pitching in and carving out ideas across a broad spectrum of creative activity.

Each exhibition will expose the curators’ unique approach to making, and their appreciation of dynamics within art. It will also give them chance to develop meaningful relationships and dialogues between artists. The programme is broadly removing the role of the gallerist as curator with the value of handing direction to artists.

Guest Curator

Brian Mountford

Exhibiting Artists

Jane Hayes Greenwood | Kostas Sklavenitis | Zoe Spowage | Max Gimson | Neill Kidgell | Rae Hicks | Tristan Pigott | Henny Acloque | John Greenwood | Brian Mountford | Gorka Mohamed | Francesca Blomfield.


Rufus Newell

Brian Mountford was invited by studio holder Rufus Newell.

Programme Co-ordinators

Suzy Babington | Rufus Newell | Jack Towndrow | Rosie Vohra

Painting Programme is co-ordinated by Assembly House studio holders.

Project Gallery

bottom of page